The Board of Directors of Bharat Gears Ltd. comprises of Chairman and Managing Director and one Joint Managing Director, who are Promoter Directors. The Board also comprises of five Non-Executive Directors.
Details of Directors
Mr. Surinder Paul Kanwar is the Chairman and Managing Director of Bharat Gears Limited. A commerce graduate from Delhi University, Mr. Kanwar is immensely experienced and has in-depth knowledge of the core business of the Company i.e. Automotive Gears. He has wholesome exposure on all aspects of business of the Company and is engaged in supervision and conduct of business of the Company, along with a team of senior management personnel, who assist him in carrying out his activities, subject to the overall supervision and control of the Board. He has been associated with Late Dr. Raunaq Singh Group since 1975. He has also worked at various managerial positions in various Raunaq Group Companies viz. BST Manufacturing Limited (Bharat Steel Tubes Limited), Raunaq EPC International Limited, Raunaq and Company Pvt. Ltd., to name a few. Mr. Kanwar is on the Board of Bharat Gears Limited since 29 September, 1982. He is the Chairman and Managing Director of the Company since 29 October, 2002.
Mr. Sameer Kanwar, a young and energetic person, is a third generation Entrepreneur. As Executive Director-Strategic Planning of Bharat Gears Limited, he has spearheaded the Business Operations of the Faridabad plant of the Company. He holds a Bachelor's Degree in Business Economics from York University, Canada. Subsequently, he received two years training in the areas of Planning, Finance and Control at ZF Friedrichshafen AG, Germany, the world's largest maker of drivelines and chassis for automobiles. He has overall experience and exposure in Marketing, Purchase and Management. He believes that creation of a successful organisation needs nurturing of people and developing a climate that recognizes performance and leadership.
Mr. Sameer Kanwar is the Joint Managing Director of the Company since 01 June, 2008 post Board of Directors approval in its meeting held on 28 May, 2008.
Mr. Virendra Kumar Pargal is a Non-Executive Independent Director of the Company since 24 January, 2002. Mr. Pargal is a qualified Chartered Engineer from England.
Mr. Wolfgang Rudolf Schilha is a Non-Executive Independent Director on the Board of the Company since 26 February, 1986. Mr. Schilha, in Tettnang, Germany is graduate of Business Administration. He retired from ZF Germany as the "Executive Vice President, International Strategic Projects of the Commercial Vehicle division of ZF, after having managed Truck and Bus Transmission Sales, ZF Corporate Worldwide Service Network and up to June 2013 the strategic business unit Bus Driveline Technology at ZF." He was also the Chairman of ZF Drivetech (Suzhou) Ltd. in Suzhou, PR China, ZF Beiben Drivetech Company Ltd. Chongqing PRC and Chairman of the Supervisory board at ZF Hungaria Kft. in Eger, Hungary. He is immensely experienced and has international exposure on various facets of Auto Industry as a whole including Gear Technology. He is having expertise in the area of sales, marketing and service.
Mr. Nagar Venkatraman Srinivasan is a Non- Executive Director of the Company w.e.f. 03 November, 2017. He is a graduate in Mechanical Engineering. He has done MS in lndustrial Engineering from University of lllinois and he is an MBA from Graduate School of Business of the University of Pittsburgh in USA. He has rich experience of 51 years.
Mr. Rakesh Chopra is a Non-Executive Independent Director of the Company. He has been associated with the Company with more than a decade. He is a qualified Chartered Accountant (England & Wales) and an MBA from Cranfield University, U.K. He has spearheaded various industry groups at top management levels including Escorts till September 2006. He has rich experience of around 47 years. He is also a director and Audit Committee Chairman in Minda Corporation Limited and director in G.P.R. Enterprises Pvt. Ltd., Kempty Cottages Pvt. Ltd. and Pragma Holdings Pvt. Ltd. He is also Founder member and Chairman of Indraprastha Cancer Society.
Ms. Hiroo Suresh Advani has been associated with the Company as Non-Executive Independent Director w.e.f. 30 January, 2014. She has over 46 years work experience in the field of Trade Finance, Project Finance, Corporate Banking, Technology Upgradation Programme (TUF) etc. in the organizations viz. Reserve Bank of India, Industrial Development Bank of India, Export Import Bank of India etc. She has also served as Nodal officer of EXIM Bank for CDR Cell and represented EXIM Bank for TUF meetings Min. of Textiles, GOI. She worked as Chief General Manager with EXIM Bank till 2005 and subsequently upon retirement, She served as Adviser in EXIM Bank till March 2009. She is a Post Graduate in Arts and CAIIB from Indian Institute of Bankers.
Mr. Raman Nanda has been associated with the Company as a Non-Executive Independent Director w.e.f. 29 December, 2021. He is a Bachelor in Commerce from Shri Ram College of Commerce, Delhi University-Gold Medalist and Master of Business Administration from Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad with a specialization in Finance. He is having a rich experience of 45 years. He has served in various renowned Companies like Gestamp, Tata Autocomp Systems, Murugappa Group, Usha Martin Black, Tega Industries etc. He is founder and CEO, Step Transformations since 2020 having an objective of serving the business community by helping people and businesses grow. He is also a Visiting Faculty at Flame University, Pune.